#Unpopular Messages

I was not at all planning on writing about this but I was laying down thinking about a passage that came to me,

“You have heard that it was said, ‘You shall love your neighbor and hate your enemy.’ But I say to you, love your enemies, bless those who curse you, do good to those who hate you, and pray for those who spitefully use you and persecute you, that you may be sons of your Father in heaven; for He makes His sun rise on the evil and on the good, and sends rain on the just and on the unjust. For if you love those who love you, what reward have you? Do not even the tax collectors do the same?  And if you greet your brethren only, what do you do more than others? Do not even the tax collectors do so? Therefore you shall be perfect, just as your Father in heaven is perfect.” (Matthew 5:43-48)

I’m sure most would agree with me that it’s not at all hard to love someone who naturally loves you back like your family and friends. I’ve never heard of someone having an issue with showing acts of kindness towards others who bless and are kind to them nor have I heard of anyone having an issue with praying for someone who shares their interest, comforts them or make them happy. That’s why after reading what Jesus said, I realized that loving the very ones who don’t reciprocate back to us, was the biggest challenge anyone would ever have to face.

After reading the passage I wondered why was it so important for Jesus to challenge his followers with this difficult task of pressing our love for those who may have hurt us or who detest our very existence. I believe Jesus wanted his followers to come up higher from what they have been taught and into a place where He reigns and the world is subjected to; a place of love, power, peace and perfection. Being that Jesus is Love, he requires those who follow him to possess who he is.

 Was he giving his disciples an unreasonable demand? Yes, from a natural standpoint. Jesus is full aware that our natural man isn’t capable of fulfilling such a demand. It’s our natural instinct to repay evil for evil and good for good. Therefore, paying good to those who do evil goes against our human nature. However, from a spiritual standpoint Jesus was very reasonable. Jesus expected his disciples (and us) to depend on Him to fulfill the task of pressing our love to a whole new level and he knew that this challenge was predicated upon us living beyond our natural instinct into a life that is dependent on His Spirit. Jesus challenged his disciples because he wanted them to grow beyond who they were, beyond their humanness.  Now, this is what he challenges us to do and if your really ready to grow, try taking a real challenge!

Ready for a REAL challenge???
1. Try loving someone who hates you.
2. Try giving to someone who didn’t share with you.
3. Try praying for someone who doesn’t pray for you.
4. Try forgiving someone who doesn’t even know they need to be forgiven.

About ThasiaAwad

Hi everyone! I'm so glad you stopped by. I'm Thasia Awad, author of Lord Make Me Good Ground: A Personal Journey to Cultivating the Heart and Promoting Lasting Fruit. This book was written from a personal desire to become good ground, like the one Jesus spoke of in The Parable of the Sower. Before my pursuit, I thought this meant that I had to make sure I was the most presentable, respectable and upright Christian I could be in order to reap a harvests of good rewards from God. As this pursuit grew, I realized that the way I perceived the parable was all wrong because my heart was wrong and even though I looked the part, I rarely dealt with my heart issues therefore, never truly fruitful. As this parable unraveled and came alive in my life, the Lord showed me that He was not interested in making my outward man look good, but He was pursuing after the inner man (my heart) so that I could truly be good, which I also found was no one person’s job! This journey has challenged me in every way, to dig beyond the surface of my existence and has stripped me of superficial and worldly thinking of what it means to be fruitful. As a result, God was able to reach into my inner man and confront my secret motives, desires and the bondage of my subconscious mind that kept me unfruitful. I am still on my journey but I am also on a new journey that includes helping others to become more self aware of the issues that lie deep within their hearts in hopes to begin a path true fruitfulness in their lives.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to #Unpopular Messages

  1. Mohamad Awad says:

    Nice post baby…

    280 7772400 10058400 259 261 257 275 262 278 1 06`^8R4!3:4VFC51,48,?0P 5 1 0 281 False 0 0 -1 304800 243 True 128 77 255 3175 3175 70 True True True True True 277 134217728 8 Empty 16711680 52479 26367 13421772 16737792 13382502 16777215 Bluebird 22860000 22860000 (`@““““` 266 263 5 110185200 110185200 True (“““““` (“““““` 0 3072240 1218960 Mohamad Awad Everlasting DeZigns 1220 Madison Ave. Toledo, Ohio 43604 419.242.3607 419.242.4061 fax

    Like

  2. tauja345 says:

    Mrs Awad.. You are on fire girl!!! 🔥🔥Never let the flame go out.. This journey as we know can be Lonely and tiresome, but do not get weary in well doing.. Fight the good fight of faith delivering the gospel without fear!!! God sees all… And if you continue to build, they will come❤️ Shalom

    Like

  3. tauja345 says:

    Omg it burns but this is the haiku of my heart.. To stretch myself on these core things you mentioned.. Some day it burns cause it hurts and it’s hard. But as I continue to do these things I am liberated in all my being controlled by no thing but free indeed!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

