Alone {Five Minute Friday}

alone2

I was talking to a friend today who seemed to have a lot on her mind. She began telling me how empty and inadequate she’s been feeling and although her ministry has and continues to touch the hearts of many people, her feelings have led her to contemplate letting go of the very thing she’s been called to do. As I was listening, I was reminded of many circumstances that have left me feeling the same way. I knew those feelings all too well especially when in ministry. Most people who are called to serve in any capacity may find themselves feeling from time to time, depleted and alone even after pouring their lives into so many for a period of time.

The feelings my friend was feeling was kind of like a lifeguard who is in the middle of the ocean with tons of people who can’t swim so he gives his life jacket to whomever can’t swim. For the rest who can’t swim, he tosses floaters to them. Yet there is still more who can’t swim so he places them in a boat that they find floating around. All the people who were rescued get to shore safely except for the lifeguard. Everyone who made it to shores safely, wonders why the lifeguard is struggling to make it to the shore given the fact that he is an expert swimmer. As the lifeguard struggles to swim to shore by himself he wonders why no one that he helped did not extend a life jacket back to him.

Even though that’s how we feel sometimes we need to be reminded that we are not alone and that we have The Comforter swimming through the deep waters of life with us and when we overcome our feelings of loneliness and inadequacies to swim to the shore He is the only one who will restore our strength.

(This is a 5 minute Friday Post (#fmfparty) that happens each week at Kate Motaung’s place. Every week she gives a word prompt followed by 5 minutes of writing and then link up! To take part of, visit katemotaung.com.)

About ThasiaAwad

Hi everyone! I'm so glad you stopped by. I'm Thasia Awad, author of Lord Make Me Good Ground: A Personal Journey to Cultivating the Heart and Promoting Lasting Fruit. This book was written from a personal desire to become good ground, like the one Jesus spoke of in The Parable of the Sower. Before my pursuit, I thought this meant that I had to make sure I was the most presentable, respectable and upright Christian I could be in order to reap a harvests of good rewards from God. As this pursuit grew, I realized that the way I perceived the parable was all wrong because my heart was wrong and even though I looked the part, I rarely dealt with my heart issues therefore, never truly fruitful. As this parable unraveled and came alive in my life, the Lord showed me that He was not interested in making my outward man look good, but He was pursuing after the inner man (my heart) so that I could truly be good, which I also found was no one person’s job! This journey has challenged me in every way, to dig beyond the surface of my existence and has stripped me of superficial and worldly thinking of what it means to be fruitful. As a result, God was able to reach into my inner man and confront my secret motives, desires and the bondage of my subconscious mind that kept me unfruitful. I am still on my journey but I am also on a new journey that includes helping others to become more self aware of the issues that lie deep within their hearts in hopes to begin a path true fruitfulness in their lives.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Alone {Five Minute Friday}

  1. Cindi says:

    beautiful. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. jodiesdye says:

    I love you Tay! Thanks for listening to my cry! 🙂 I love also the way you used the analogy of the lifeguard.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Christy says:

    As a pastors wife, I GET this! The lifeguard analogy is gold! Have a GREAT Saturday!

    Liked by 1 person

    • ThasiaAwad says:

      Yes! I think this can relate to all of our “lifeguards” (first ladies, ministers, pastors, social workers, doctors, counselor…ect.) who spend their lives pouring out until they are empty…Thank you for stopping by!

      Like

  4. moreatforty says:

    What a wonderful and appropriate metaphor. And a great reminder to be there for those who help us, even if we don’t think they need it. So easy to forget that even the person who seems to “have it all together” sometimes needs a helping hand to keep it from falling apart. Stopping by from FMF – thanks for the comment over at my blog! I’ll be reading yours in the future!

    Liked by 1 person

    • ThasiaAwad says:

      I’m happy you understand! People forget that the higher you go, the lonelier we can get and just because we are expert lifeguards, it doesn’t mean we don’t need help traveling through deep waters. Thank you for stopping by and I look forward to following you as well!

      Like

  5. Sadallia Lightner says:

    Wow! I love this. I also needed this. I been feeling this way and would have to tell myself that God got me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • ThasiaAwad says:

      Yes Sadallia! We would all love to receive a lifeline from someone especially those whom we’ve given one to. However, the truth of the matter is that we shouldn’t take it personal when that doesn’t happen. My answer is twofold: First, most people who are always given a lifeline still need to learn how to use it for themselves and asking them to toss a lifeline back to you may sincerely be too much to ask of them. Life has to teach them what I call the golden rule of “teach as you are taught; pour out as you have been poured into; give as you have been given;heal as you have been healed and rescue as you were once in darkness and needed to be rescued”!
      Secondly, I believe that those who are always giving of themselves and serving whether in or out of church, must always remember that God IS our lifeline! In this line of duty, there are very few who know how to “hone in on the cry” of a lifeguard nor have they learned how to use what they’ve been given to go back and help others. So as we go out into the deep dark trenches, to be the light of Jesus, we must remain anchored in the only One who can refill us, save us from our own trouble and pull us out of deep waters as we toss lifelines to those who need them. King Jesus.

      Like

  6. MzPassion says:

    I can so relate with this! kind of choaked me up reading it because it is so true an some people just dont understand what that feels like. Like your drownimg and there is no one to help you especially when your always trying to save everyone else thanks Sadallia Lightner for sending me this love you sis

    Liked by 1 person

    • ThasiaAwad says:

      Thank you for sharing

      Like

      • MzPassion says:

        Your welcome i feel like this touched on so many levels of ma life i was just goin through some things an ma sister sadallia gave me her phone an let me read this an it choaked me up i wanted to cry really and then i understood the power of prayer this was no mistake

        Liked by 1 person

      • ThasiaAwad says:

        Also, Please read the article I posted called “Our Father Hones in on the Cry of a Life Guard”. I pray it will help you put things back into perspective whenever your service to people leaves you feeling depleted! I hope this helps and have a peaceful day!

        Like

Leave a Reply

