Wounded is the New Lost (Part 2)

wounded pic

Before we get into part two of the discussion of our wounded brothers and sisters, I would like to take time to say that this subject is in no way a vehicle to bash or blame members of the body of Christ but only to bring awareness to something that hinders and in some cases cause us to fall away from our faith. As we observe this situation, we must not neglect the fact that the Christian Church has come a long way from when we first began and we should take privilege in the fact that we are one of few faiths that gives its members the freedom to examine its belief system for the sake of growth and development. Therefore, examining our faith along with its distressing dilemmas is a necessity because it helps us to remember that the Almighty God has entrusted a supreme treasure, the Gospel, inside the hearts of feeble, fallible earthen vessels who will always need the aid of the One who has entrusted us to the task of delivering it. With that in mind, it’s essential to bring topics like this to the light because it gives us an opportunity to turn to Him so that he may give us the grace we need be better as a whole.

How does the wounded resemble the “unreached” lost?

Before I address how God feels about the wounded, I felt like we needed to become more aware of who the wounded are and why they are “lost”.

If I were to retitle this blog it would be, Wounded is the New Unreached because when we think of someone who is lost, we think of those who have not accepted salvation and therefore lacks eternal life with Christ (or at least this is what I thought). When missionaries go to far away countries where there are “unreached” territories, they say they’re “reaching the lost” but some would argue that if they’ve yet to accept salvation, they’re not lost at all (I can elaborate on this in a later topic) but those who are in fact lost have actually accepted Christ’s salvation and are considered part of God’s family but have somehow been led away from the fold. However, for the sake of simplicity, if we’re going to consider the “unreached” the lost then there is another type of lost who, in my opinion are quite unreached as well; who the Word of God expresses a very strong desire to touch; the wounded lost.

The Wounded are not the “unreached” population of the world who have absolutely no knowledge or relationship with Christ. In fact, the wounded lost know, believe and have accepted the salvation of Christ and some may even maintain their relationships with God. Nonetheless, they resemble the “unreached” in a sense that they too have a hard time seeing their way and acknowledging the importance of being connected. Yet, unlike the unreached people of the world, it’s their wounds they’ve suffered at the hands of a fellow brother or sister that keeps them isolated from the fold and have blinded them from finding their way back.

How important is the wounded to God?

To be honest with you, I don’t believe I have it within my natural self to express the absolute importance the wounded are to God. So, as I was doing my study, I was led to Ezekiel 34 where the priest Ezekiel received a message from the Lord regarding the shepherds of Israel which says:

And the word of the Lord came to me, saying, “Son of man, prophesy against the shepherds of Israel, prophesy and say to them, ‘Thus says the Lord God to the shepherds: “Woe to the shepherds of Israel who feed themselves! Should not the shepherds feed the flocks? You eat the fat and clothe yourselves with the wool; you slaughter the fatlings, but you do not feed the flock. The weak you have not strengthened, nor have you healed those who were sick, nor bound up the broken, nor brought back what was driven away, nor sought what was lost; but with force and cruelty you have ruled them. So they were scattered because there was no shepherd; and they became food for all the beasts of the field when they were scattered. My sheep wandered through all the mountains, and on every high hill; yes, My flock was scattered over the whole face of the earth, and no one was seeking or searching for them.

‘Therefore, you shepherds, hear the word of the Lord: As I live,” says the Lord God, “surely because My flock became a prey, and My flock became food for every beast of the field, because there was no shepherd, nor did My shepherds search for My flock, but the shepherds fed themselves and did not feed My flock”— therefore, O shepherds, hear the word of the Lord! 10 Thus says the Lord God: “Behold, I am against the shepherds, and I will require My flock at their hand; I will cause them to cease feeding the sheep, and the shepherds shall feed themselves no more; for I will deliver My flock from their mouths, that they may no longer be food for them.”

The temperature in this message makes it somewhat uncomfortable for me to continue on. However, my prayer is that the message I’m trying to relay is received properly and without offense.

When we study the text above, we see that the sheep are scattered not because they simply chose to wonder off but because they were being abused and neglected in many different ways and judging from the content, God was livid at seeing his sheep (his people) wondering all around, lost, hungry and subjected to vicious prey.

Tomorrow, I want to take a closer look at Ezekiel 34 as I believe it will help answer the questions within this subject matter.

Stay connected with me as we find out:

What are the affects the wounded is having on the church today?

How to reach out to the wounded

Whose job is it?

About ThasiaAwad

Hi everyone! I'm so glad you stopped by. I'm Thasia Awad, author of Lord Make Me Good Ground: A Personal Journey to Cultivating the Heart and Promoting Lasting Fruit. This book was written from a personal desire to become good ground, like the one Jesus spoke of in The Parable of the Sower. Before my pursuit, I thought this meant that I had to make sure I was the most presentable, respectable and upright Christian I could be in order to reap a harvests of good rewards from God. As this pursuit grew, I realized that the way I perceived the parable was all wrong because my heart was wrong and even though I looked the part, I rarely dealt with my heart issues therefore, never truly fruitful. As this parable unraveled and came alive in my life, the Lord showed me that He was not interested in making my outward man look good, but He was pursuing after the inner man (my heart) so that I could truly be good, which I also found was no one person’s job! This journey has challenged me in every way, to dig beyond the surface of my existence and has stripped me of superficial and worldly thinking of what it means to be fruitful. As a result, God was able to reach into my inner man and confront my secret motives, desires and the bondage of my subconscious mind that kept me unfruitful. I am still on my journey but I am also on a new journey that includes helping others to become more self aware of the issues that lie deep within their hearts in hopes to begin a path true fruitfulness in their lives.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Wounded is the New Lost (Part 2)

  1. annepeterson says:

    Perhaps it’s easier to pursue the unreached, those far away. They can be counted more easily. Those with wounds take longer. The wounded have messy lives. And some just don’t think it’s worth their time. But one of the saddest things is this, some label the wounded as those unwilling to get help. And some are unable.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. annepeterson says:

    We can pray that others would see it. And we can try to make others aware but it will take God’s words through us. I’m trying with the opportunities God gives me.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks for following up on this important word, Tay. I’ll highlight this post, too, on the Christian Poets & Writers blog – http://www.christianpoetsandwriters.com. May God help us to bring healing words to Christians everywhere through our prayers and writing lives.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Tierra Mcneal says:

    so let me get this a lot of the lost sheep (people) dont have the guidance they need

    Like

    • ThasiaAwad says:

      You’re Absolutely right! Most people who are lost (wether because they’re own heart leads them astray or from being afflicted by the church) suffer from proper guidance of a pastor. So what sometimes happens is that it leaves them open to false teachings and others things that are contrary to our Heavenly Father.

      Like

Leave a Reply

